(©Scott Chernis/SF Travel)
Upon her death in 1929, socialite and art patron Lillie Hitchcock Coit bequeathed funds for the “beautification of the city.” Her heirs used the money to build Coit Tower on Telegraph Hill. Completed in 1933, the fluted column provides bird’s-eye views from an observation deck near the top. Local artists commissioned by the Works Progress Administration (a New Deal agency employing millions of unskilled workers to carry out public works projects) painted the murals inside in 1934. Admission to the ground-floor gift shop and murals is free.