(©Historic New Orleans Collection)
This trove of local historic treasures features free changing exhibitions. Open Tu-Sa, 9:30 am-4:30 pm; Su, 10:30 am-4:30 pm. The Louisiana History Galleries are housed in the Merieult House, circa 1792, while the Laura Simon Nelson Galleries of Louisiana Art are in the circa-1825 Perrilliat House (400 Chartres St.). Guided tours of the Williams Residence are $5 (Tu-Sa, 10 and 11 am, 2 and 3 pm; Su, 11 am, 2 and 3 pm); other tours available.
Discover authentic local and regional history at The Historic New Orleans Collection—a museum, research center, and publisher located in the heart of the French Quarter. Celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2016, the HNOC presents a comprehensive view of the Gulf South, capturing information on both milestones and everyday moments.
The nonprofit institution was founded in 1966 by two private collectors. Since that time, the facilities have grown to include two campuses: 533 Royal St. and 400–410 Chartres St., which hold more than one million items combined.
In addition to permanent and changing exhibitions, the Royal Street location offers two guided tours as well as the museum shop. The Williams Research Center, at 410 Chartres St., houses the institution’s archive and a reading room for scholars of all levels. As a publisher, the HNOC produces elegant, award-winning nonfiction works on the region’s history, art, music, and literature.
The museum spaces are free, and tours are available for $5 per person. Facilities are open Tuesday–Saturday, 9:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m., and the Royal Street property is open Sunday, 10:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m. Details of current offerings are available at www.hnoc.org and (504) 523-4662.