The oldest wood-frame structure on the island has added a new feature previously unseen by the public. Visitors to the Lyman House, the esteemed 19th-century historic home of the Rev. David Lyman, a Congregationalist missionary, can now view The Annex, where he stored cloth and other trade goods for bartering, and where architectural details of the time period are shown in exhibits and interiors. Lyman founded the Hilo Boarding School in 1836 for Hawaiian boys and, later, the sons of the local plantation workers. They learned blacksmithing, carpentry and printing, and the Annex, built in 1845, shows some of the high-quality koa furniture they made. (808) 935-5021,LymanMuseum.org.