Museum Island (Museuminsel)

Built on a small island in the Spree River is a unique ensemble of five museums: the Altes Museum (1830), considered to be architect Karl Friedrich Schinkel’s neoclassical masterpiece; the Neues Museum (1859), housing Egyptian and prehistoric collections; the Alte Nationalgalerie (1876) for 19th-century German and European paintings; the Bode-Museum (1904), renowned for its sculptures and Byzantine Art; and Alfred Mussel’s Pergamonmuseum (1930), housing artifacts from German excavations in Pergamon and Asia Minor. The island is also home to the Berliner Dom (Berlin Cathedral). Illustrating the evolution of modern museum design and displaying 6000 years of human artistic endeavor, Museum Island was deservedly awarded UNESCO World Heritage Status in 1999. 


Am Lustgarten 1
10117 Berlin