In the year marking the 200th anniversary of the Battle of Baltimore, it seems right that a beloved symbol of the city has come in from the cold. Since 1822, the Lady Baltimore statue stood gracefully atop the Battle Monument. But the lady herself was under siege from wind, rain, snow and temperature extremes. Now safely ensconced at the Maryland Historical Society and visible through its floor-to-ceiling windows, she remains, as MdHS president Burt Kummerow says, “a beacon for the city.”
SIGNED AND SEALED
The Battle Monument, inscribed with the names of 39 Baltimoreans who died in the War of 1812, became the official emblem of the city in 1827.
Architect Maximilian Godefroy, who had helped reinforce Fort McHenry before the British attack, designed the monument. Antonio Capellano carved the statue plus the griffins and battle-scene reliefs.
Made of Carrara marble, Lady Baltimore stands 8 feet tall and weighs 2,750 pounds.
She wears a crown and raises a laurel wreath for victory. Her left hand grips a rudder representing navigation.
OUT ON A LIMB
After storms damaged her arms, Baltimore sculptors Hans Schuler and Reuben Kramer made replacement parts.
On October 5, 2013, workers carefully lifted Lady Baltimore from her 39-foot pedestal and put a hardy concrete replica in her place.
Lady Baltimore went on public display in her new home December 5, 2013, feted by The Fort McHenry Fife and Drum Corps, War of 1812 living history characters and the mayor. Now visitors get up-close views of her bruised beauty.